Boo!!

I delivered a load late one afternoon in the southeast last year and dispatch did not have a reload for me. The receiver said I could park for the night along the bottom of their property on a dead end road. As I was 50 miles from the nearest truck stop, I took advantage of the offer, parking at the end of the road, at the bottom of a hill from their docks. After dark, when I decided to get ready for bed, I took my little dog Lilly out for her nightly romp.

Walking along side of my trailer, I heard the jangle of metal. Lilly all of a sudden stopped and looked up the hill towards the dock area; she started to growl softly. Following her gaze, I too looked up the hill wondering if we were safe. All of a sudden I saw misty figures silhouetted against the security lights along the warehouse building at the top of the hill. The jangling of metal got louder and I started hearing voices shouting! The misty figures started down the hill and vanished! I stood in amazement as I realized that I had just seen several ghosts at the same time!

A friend of mine was staged ready to load at a well known brewery warehouse in Colorado. It was night time and she was sitting waiting for her load to be ready. As she sat in her truck in the dark, she felt the hairs rise on her neck. Looking up, she saw a tall dark figure in front of her truck looking towards her. The figure was male and dressed like a fur trapper. He stood there for a few seconds then turned and walked away for about five feet then vanished!

Ghosts as a rule do not scare me, I live with one in my house after all, but there are times when even I get hinky about what I see or hear or feel. Stopping on an on-ramp for a quick pit stop one night in the desert, I took Lilly out for her pit stop too. As I stood in front of the truck on the shoulder, I started feeling like I was tingly all over and goose bumps rose on my arms. I looked around but could not see anything to be worried about.

Suddenly, I heard a woman crying; Lilly obviously heard it too because she looked around on the alert. The crying sounded like it was right next to the truck. Thinking that there was someone in trouble, I hurriedly got my flash light from the truck and shown it around both sides of the ramp going so far as to walk out into the desert a ways. Even though I could still hear the crying, there was no one there!

Chills still go up my back when I think about this episode; poor woman, I have often wondered why she cried. Some have suggested that I was hearing a coyote sing, but I live in Missouri, we have coyotes here and I have heard them; this was definitely the sound of a woman crying. I think it was a woman from the past who was in despair and the echoes of her cries came thru the years. I have stopped on that ramp since then, but have never heard the crying again.

A male driver I know told me this story. The driver broke down one night along a lonely highway. As this was in the day when even a company driver carried tools, he got out of the truck and started tinkering with the engine to try to fix the problem. As he turned to get a different tool, he was startled to see a man standing beside his tool box. The man said hello and asked what the trouble was. Not seeing another vehicle, the driver thought it might be a farmer or rancher who lived nearby who saw the truck sitting along side of the road and walked over to see if he could help.

The driver told the man what had happened before the truck broke down and the two worked on finding and fixing the problem. The man told the driver to climb into the truck and try starting it. The driver pushed the button and the truck roared to life. Looking down beside the driver’s door where the man had been standing a second ago, the driver saw that the man was gone! There was not time for the man to have walked out of visual range. The driver swears to this day that it was a mechanically inclined ghost!

Ghosts, phantoms and spirits abound in the world of trucking. One never knows when one will see one; they do not walk up and say BOO, they are just there or are they?

Sandy Long is a long time truck driver who is also very active within the trucking industry. She was a long time writer for layover.com, is a life member of OOIDA, member of the WIT and owner of two websites:  Trailer Truckin’ Tech, a yahoo group dedicated to the education of new and prospective truck drivers and www.satinandsteelsisterhood.com for women truck drivers. Sandy’s first book Street Smarts: A Guide for a Truck Driver’s Personal Safety is available at https://www.createspace.com/3449566

Leave a Reply

